Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeTSCTSC Honors Outstanding teachers

TSC Honors Outstanding teachers

List of 31 teachers rewarded by TSC on World Teachers Day.

TSC Honors Outstanding teachers

According to Kenya High School’sPrincipal Flora Mulatya, hard work, high student discipline, and the incorporation of technology in learning were the secret strategies behind excellent performance in the 2020 Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE).

Ms Mulatya was one of 29 teachers from across the country recognized by the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) on World Teachers’ Day for their outstanding work.

Ms Mulatya was recognized as the best-performing principal, having produced the greatest number of top students in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) exams.

Kenya High was the best-performing school, with a mean score of 10.467, beating out traditional giants such as Starehe Boys Centre, Alliance High, Alliance Girls, Pangani Girls, and others.

Ms Mulatya said that when learning was halted due to Covid-19 last year, her school was quick to shift to digital learning, with lessons delivered via Zoom.

Students took virtual classes, received assignments, and took revision exams.

She said “It was through the efforts and handwork of the teachers” that she was able to win the two awards,”

The TSC awards were the first to recognize performing teachers.

Utafiti Primary (Makueni County) headteacher Stephen Ngoma Nzyoka received the best award for primary schools, while Kari Mwailu Primary headteacher Mathew Masaku Wambua was also honoured for producing the best candidate.

Sammy Kipchumba Maiyo (Kapsabet Boys, Nandi); John Munyua Kuria (Mang’u High, Kiambu); William Macharia Mwangi (Alliance High, Kiambu); and Jacinter Njeri Waweru (Alliance High, Kiambu) was also honoured (Mary Hill Girls, Kiambu).

Josleen Karimi Mugambi (Kathigiri Boarding, Meru); Anne M Onyancha (St Peter’s Mumias, Kakamega); Charles Kimutai Kurgat (Tenwek Boarding, Bomet); Isaac Kipruto Magut (St Mathews Septonok, Nandi); and Jerotich Getrude Jerotich (Nandi Hills Primary, Naindi) were the top five best performers in the 2020 Kenya Certificate

Peter Tabichi of Keriko Mixed Secondary (Global Teacher, 2018); Eric Ademba of Asumbi Girls (African Union Continental Teacher, 2019); and Jane Kimiti of Othaya Girls were also honoured for winning continental and global awards in the previous three years (African Union Continental Teacher, 2020).

As part of this year’s World Teachers’ Day celebrations, the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has recognized 31 teachers from across the country.

“I wish to state that the process of identifying the teachers to be rewarded today has been done in strict conformity to the TSC Performance Recognition, Reward and Sanction Policy Framework. All the 31 teachers will be feted based on the rewards system outlined in this TSC policy – which stresses on meritocracy and detailed due diligence in recognising staff,” she said.

TSC Chief Executive Officer Dr Nancy Macharia said during the celebrations in Nairobi that the 31 teachers had “consistently demonstrated exemplary performance in teaching, management, and effective delivery of the curriculum for quality education.”

Some of them were honoured for overcoming adversity and excelling in various aspects of their careers.

“I wish to state that we are not in any way suggesting that the 31 teachers are the only remarkable teachers we have in the practice. In fact, this number is just the tip of the ice berg. And we, at the TSC, will keep finding more ways to ensure all our teachers feel recognised and appreciated for their work.”

The TSC Chief Executive Officer stated that the commission would proceed with recommending outstanding tutors for recognition at various levels in accordance with government policy.

Mr Eric Ademba of Asumbi Girls School was named African Union Continental Teacher of the Year in 2019, and Jane Kimiti of Othaya Girls Secondary School was named African Union Continental Teacher of the Year in 2018. (2020).

Meanwhile, a moment of silence was observed in memory of teachers who have died as a result of COVID-19 since the pandemic’s outbreak.

“Allow me to first of all celebrate posthumously our Ninety (90) Heroes and Heroines who succumbed to COVID-19 over the last year, some of them in the middle of their tireless efforts to ensure learning in our schools was back on track,” she said.

Dr Macharia noted that all teachers have received at least the first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, and he urged all tutors to make a concerted effort to be fully vaccinated. Education stakeholders and teachers union members attended the event.

TSC Honors Outstanding teachers

TSC has named the following 31 teachers to be honoured on World Teachers Day in 2021:

  • Josleen Karimi Mugambi (Kathigiri Boarding – Meru)
  • SR Onyancha Anne M (St. Peters Mumias)
  • Kurgat Charles Kimutai (Tenwek Boarding – Bomet)
  • Magut Isaac Kipruto (St. Mathews Septonok – Nandi)
  • Jerotich Getrude (Nandi Hills Pry – Nandi)
  • Lucas Opiyo Okello (Igorera Sec. – Kisii)
  • Jason Mogoa Onyango (Ndonyo Sec – Kisii)
  • Maiyo Sammy Kipchumba (Kapsabet Boys – Nandi)
  • Florah Mulatya (Kenya High)
  • Kuria John Munyua (Mang’u High)
  • William Macharia Mwangi (Alliance High)
  • Waweru Jacinter Njeri (Mary Hill Girls – Kiambu)
  • Nzyoka Stephen Ngoma (Utafiti Pry-Kibwezi)
  • Salat Adow Alim (Rhamu Day Sec. – Mandera)
  • Rosebella K. Munzala (St Joseph’s Girls Kitale – Trans Nzoia)
  • Edward Condo Gona (Mnamwenga Pry Sch. Kilifi)
  • Julius Munguti Nzioka (Kwa Mulungu Pry Sch -Kitui)
  • Abdikadir Isaack Sheik (Banisa Pry Sch – Mandera)
  • Welly Hassan (Elan Pry Sch -Garissa)
  • Abdi Abey Abdullahi (Malaba Pry Wajir)
  • Catherine Karanga (Thika High Sch – Kiambu)
  • Aggrey Warialo (Natando Pry Sch for PI Bungoma)
  • Asli Muhamed Abdi (Wajir Special Sch)
  • Margaret Njuguna (Thika Primary for VI Kiambu)
  • Kuria Willie Mwangi (Murang’a High Sch)
  • Florah Mulatya (Kenya High Sch Nairobi)
  • Lydia Nelima Namisi (Nzoia Sugar Primary Bungoma)
  • Mathew Masaku Wambua (Kari Mwailu Pri Sch Makueni)
  • Ademba Eric Otieno, MBS (Asumbi Girls Homa bay)
  • Jane Kimiti HSC (Othaya Girls Nyeri)
  •  Peter Tabichi, MBS (Keriko Sec Nakuru)



​​​​​For more Teachers Update

Best Telegram Groups For Teachers 2021.

Join the @TeachersUpdates Telegram channel


TSC Honors Outstanding teachers



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -

You cannot copy content of this page